The ERIATA ORIBHABOR POETRY PRIZE (EOPP) was instituted in November 2012 by Words Rhymes & Rhythm (WRR) in partnership with Sir Eriata Oribhabor.

Sir Eriata, a renowned poet and promoter of Nigerian poetry who has received several awards for his work with Nigerian arts and young poets, saw the need to establish special reward mechanism for young Nigerian poets.

The EOPP finds its purpose in the belief that poetry and the arts are agents of social change that must routinely encouraged.


Mr Oribhabor is an Essayist, Poet, Chairman, Association of Nigerian Authors, Abuja, and member of the Naija Languej Akedemi put together by the Institute of French Research in Africa (IFRA-NG).

Promoter of Naija languej (standardized version of Nigerian Pidgin), he once wrote the column Naija Languej A-Z in Leadership Newspaper, Abuja Nigeria where his articles written in English, featured words/phrases in Naija languej. His first published book is, Abuja Na Kpangba an oda puem-dem (IFRA-Oribhabor, 2010); a collection of poems in Naija languej. He is the Editor of “If Yu Hie Se A De Prizin”; an anthology of poems written in Naija.

His forth-coming works include, “The Good Old Naija” is a collection of essays published in his column, “Naija Langwej A-Z” (Leadership and defunct The Market magazine), “Beautiful Poisons – Collection of poems”, “The Face of Abuja” – poetry collection and “Lagos na Gon-Gon” – poetry collection in Naija langwej, etc.
Oribhabor is behind a publishing outfit called Something for Everybody Ventures and passionate about positive change for his country Nigeria. As the Organiser, 100 Thousand Poets for Change, Abuja-Nigeria, he is very much passionate about promoting young writers towards developing their potential.

EOPP Hall of Fame:

  1. 2012 – Nwakanma Chika
  2. 2013 – Madu Chisom Kingdavid
  3. 2014 – Darlington Ekene Ogugua
  4. 2015 – Ajise Vincent
  5. 2016 – Frank Eze
  6. 2016 – Mesioye Johnson