No comments yet


Words Rhymes & Rhythm (WRR) is now receiving entries for the BRIGITTE POIRSON POETRY CONTEST (BPPC) SEASON III, 2017 (July edition). Poets from Nigeria, Africa and all over the world are hereby invited to submit their poems on the theme: THE FORBIDDEN FRUIT.

There is no denying that humans, at different points in history and in different geographical locations, limited themselves with certain rules and belief systems that may or may not be generally acceptable. Man has always had to look away from the forbidden fruit and those who dare to break the boundaries eat the forbidden fruits are first called rebels before, if they are lucky, they become pioneers.

As was aptly noted by French philosopher, author, and journalist, Albert Camus, “the only way to deal with an unfree world is to become so absolutely free that your very existence is an act of rebellion.”

‘Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics’ — Victor Pinchuk

‘Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth‘ — John F. Kennedy

Poets are therefore invited to explore the subject matter of breaking boundaries, wherever they are found in society – religion, economy, love, culture, belief systems, and gender – taking a bite at the forbidden apples of society and transgressing the rules. It is a battle-cry for the freedom of self-expression.

Entries will be received until 11:59 PM FRIDAY JULY 28, 2017.

Prize to be won:

  • The winning poem will be awarded a cash prize of N7000 and a copy of the BPPC 2017 anthology
  • All top 10 poems will be automatically entered for the Albert Jungers Poetry Prize (AJPP) 2017
  • All top 10 poems will be published in the annual BPPC 2017 anthology
  • All top 10 poets will receive a free copy of the BPPC 2017 anthology
  • Authors of the top ten poems will also be awarded a certificate each


  1. Contestants are invited to submit one poem on ANY THEME
  2. Submissions should be sent to SUBMISSIONS@WRR.NG
  3. All entries must be the original work of the poet submitting it
  4. No ATTACHMENTS. Please submit poem and other details as body of mail
  5. The CONTESTANT NAME, CONTEST MONTH, & POEM TITLE must be mentioned clearly, as the subject of the e-mail. For example: ‘Abubakar Nnamdi Adekunle, BPPC June 2017, ‘NO MAKE MISTAKE’
  6. The maximum length of the poem should be 28 lines (plus the title). Poems exceeding this length will be disqualified
  7. Authors must provide their full names and Facebook ID [for identification]and a 50-100 word biography in the body of the e-mail
  8. Submission deadline is 11:59 PM FRIDAY JULY 28, 2017.

Note that:

  1. Poems containing profanity, racism or vulgarity will be automatically disqualified
  2. The poems will be judged based on their artistic quality and creativity
  3. The judges’ decision is final and under no circumstances will they enter into any correspondence with entrants regarding their decisions
  4. The copyright of each submission remains with its owner but we retain the right to publish ALL and ANY entry in the annual BPPC anthology
  5. Poets resident in any part of the world are eligible
  6. No entry fee required
  7. Past winners may enter for the competition, but a poet can only one once in a calendar year (Season). If a past winner makes the TOP 10, the poems will ONLY be awarded a certificate and be featured in the anthology.

The June 2017 edition was won by Oka Benard Osahon, a seasoned creative writer who holds a B.A in English and Literary Studies from Delta State University (DELSU), Abraka.

The BRIGITTE POIRSON POETRY CONTEST (BPPC), a brainchild of Words Rhymes & Rhythm (WRR), is a monthly writing contest aimed at rewarding the under-appreciated talent of young Nigerian poets. It was instituted in February 2015 in honor of Brigitte Poirson, a French poet and lecturer, editor, who has over the years worked assiduously to promote and support of African poetry. Now in its third season, and being one of the few credible contests, the BPPC has since grown to be one of country’s most popular, especially among the younger poets.



The overall winner of the SEASON III (February to September 2017) will be awarded the Albert Jungers Poetry Prize (AJPP) 2017. Kanyinsola Olorunnisola won the prize in 2016.

Kukogho Iruesiri Samson

Author: admin

I am a member of the WRR editorial team.

Post a comment

%d bloggers like this: